Former deputy finance minister Mcebisi Jonas has officially stepped into his new role as MTN [JSE:MTN] board chairperson.

The mobile operator issued a shareholder notice on Wednesday afternoon,  announcing board changes which came into effect on December 15. Jonas has been filling the role as chairperson designate since May this year, after MTN announced he would replace chairperson Phuthuma Nhleko in December this year, Fin24 previously reported.

“The chair of MTN Group, Phuthuma Nhleko, has stepped down from the board on December 15, 2019 after overseeing an orderly transition of the board, including the establishment of the International Advisory Board,” the shareholder notice reads.

“Further, Alan Harper, Jeff van Rooyen and Koosum Kaylan have stepped down from the board on December 15, 2019 after an orderly transition and handover to incoming directors.” Apart from Jonas assuming his new role, Dr Khotso Mokhele has taken on the role as lead independent director.


This is a republished article, originally posted by FIN24. For this reason, RF Optix can not be held liable for the accuracy of its content; nor does it represent our opinion.